Toward the Sea: Cape Cod Chamber Orchestra
Apr 30 @ 3:00 pm

Pilgrim Congregational Church, 533 Rt. 28, Harwich Port

Tickets:  $35 general admission, students and children are admitted for free

Originally scheduled for the 400th anniversary of the Mayflower voyage in 2020, CCCO shares the story of the Pilgrim voyage and indigenous people.  The orchestra welcomes the return of CCCO composer-in-residence Cody Forrest for a world premiere, “They Were Pilgrims.”

Toru Takemitsu’s “Toward the Sea” (1981) for alto flute, harp, and strings was commissioned by Green Peace for the “Save the Whales” campaign, and features a movement dedicated to Cape Cod. The CCCO concludes this stormy journey with Mozart’s Symphony No. 40 in G minor.


Takemitsu: Toward the Sea

Zach Sheets, Principal Flute, Cape Symphony, and Charles Overton, harp

Cody Forrest: They Were Pilgrims

W.A. Mozart Symphony No. 40 in G minor

Committed to artistic integrity and excellence, Cape Cod Chamber Orchestra’s mission is to connect the diverse arts communities and individuals of Cape Cod inclusively. By collaborating with other disciplines of art and culture, the Orchestra aims to create unique concert experiences while providing exciting, enriching, and memorable orchestral music.  Featuring living composers is at the forefront of the orchestra’s mission; bringing audiences closer to the music of modern time, positioned as an essential and educational element to each performance program.  Other repertoire champions the works of living composers, as well as the music of the classical canon.  For more information visit capecodchamberorchestra.org, email [email protected], or follow Cape Cod Chamber Orchestra on Facebook and Instagram.